July 12, 2024
Kampala Daily
Also, the student loans shall strictly be awarded to students joining Higher Education Institutions in First Year.

Student Loans Resume, Here’s How to Apply

The Higher Education Students’ Financing Board (HESFB) has resumed the students’ loan scheme.

The HESFB Board has therefore invited applications from eligible Ugandan students who have been admitted in their first year under the listed Undergraduate Diploma and Degree programmes for the Academic Year 2023/24 in the Public Universities, Private Chartered Universities and the listed Other Tertiary Institutions.

The Applications officially commenced today, Monday 4th March, 2024 and the deadline for application is Friday, 15th March, 2024.

The Student Loan shall cover tuition fees and functional fees. The loan shall also cover Aids and Appliances for persons with disabilities, while research funds may be covered as and when budget allows.

Also, student loans shall strictly be awarded to students joining Higher Education Institutions in First Year.

The Loans will be awarded to applicants pursuing Undergraduate Diploma and Undergraduate Degree programmes only.


  1. The Loan Application process is solely online and is available through our website https://www.hesfb.go.ug. Visit the website and Click APPLY NOW. Note that no hard copy application forms shall be allowed.
  2. Applicants shall be required to pay a non-refundable Loan Processing Fee of UGX 53,000 to the HESFB LOAN APPLICATION FEE, Account No. 3740300006 Centenary Bank or 01363669053643 DFCU Bank. The Payment Receipts shall be scanned and attached during the Loan Application process.
  3. Applicants who may encounter challenges in the application process can seek help by calling 0392174999 or 0414255300 or through HESFB Social Media pages


  1. A copy of the Admission Letter from the participating Higher Education Institutions
  2. A copy of an Applicant’s National ID
  3. Copies of Parents’ National IDs
  4. Copies of Death Certificate (In case parents are deceased)
  5. Copies of an Applicant’s Academic certificates or result slips and transcripts
  6. A copy of the Birth Certificate
  7. A copy of the recent Passport Photo
  8. Proof of payment of the non-refundable Loan Processing fee of UGX 53,000
  9. A sketch map to the applicant’s current address/residence
  10. A sketch map to the applicant’s home of origin (If different from the current address)
  11. More requirements can be found on www.hesfb.go.ug/eligibility

Important to note is that the Board will support applicants to pursue all accredited undergraduate degree and diploma programmes in the listed 16 key academic disciplines;

  1. Agriculture
  2. Engineering
  3. Laboratory Science Programmes
  4. Human Medicine
  5. Nursing and Midwifery
  6. Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences
  7. Animal Sciences
  8. Petroleum and GeoScience Engineering
  9. Science Education
  10. Special Needs Education
  11. Statistics
  12. Computer Science and Information Technology
  13. Health Care Management Sciences
  14. Conservation Sciences
  15. Pure Sciences
  16. Tourism and Hospitality Programmes

Please Note: Persons with Disabilities can apply to pursue any accredited Programme of their choice (including Humanities) from any of the listed Higher Learning Institutions.

The following universities have been approved to participate in the loan scheme for the academic year 2024/2025;

Public Universities
Busitema University
Gulu University
Kabale University
Kyambogo University
Lira University Africa
Makerere University
Mbarara University of Science & Technology
Muni University
Soroti University
Mountains of the Moon University
Makerere University Business School (MUBS) is an affiliate of Makerere University.

Private Chartered Universities
African Bible University
Bishop Stuart University
Bugema University
International University of East
ISBAT University
Islamic University in Uganda
Kampala International University
Kampala University
Ndejje University
Nkumba University
Uganda Christian University
Uganda Martyrs University
Victoria University

Other tertiary institutions include;

    Uganda Institute of Allied Health & Mgt Sciences (Mulago Paramedical School)
    Health Tutors’ College – Mulago
    Fort Portal College of Health Sciences
    Gulu College of Health Sciences
    Mbale College of Health Sciences
    Butabika School of Psychiatry Clinical Medicine
    Jinja School of Ophthalmic Clinical Medicine
    Mbale School of Hygiene / Environmental Health Science
    Jinja Medical Laboratory Training School
    Institute of Survey and Land Management
    National Meteorological Training School
    Uganda Institute of Information and Communications Technology
    Uganda Petroleum Institute Kigumba
    Uganda Technical College, Bushenyi
    Uganda Technical College, Elgon
    Uganda Technical College, Kicwamba
    Uganda Technical College, Kyema
    Uganda Technical College, Lira
    Nakawa Vocational Training College
    Arua School of Comprehensive Nursing
    Butabika Pychiatric Nursing School
    Jinja School of Nursing & Midwifery
    Kabale School of Comprehensive Nursing
    Soroti School of Comprehensive Nursing
    Mulago School of Nursing & Midwifery
    Public Health Nurses College
    Lira School of Comprehensive Nursing
    Masaka School of Comprehensive Nursing
    Bukalasa Agricultural College
    Uganda Wildlife Research & Training Institute – Kasese
    Fisheries Training Institute – Entebbe
    Nyabyeya Forestry College
    Uganda Hotel and Tourism Training Institute – Jinja

Related posts

Museveni mourns fallen Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi


UCAA: Entebbe Airport ready to receive 3.5 million passengers annually

Uganda Radio Network

Kabale ICT Officer Accused Of Grabbing Gov’t Land, Houses


Five UPDF Soldiers Injured in Highway Accident


Shaka Ssali dismisses death rumours


Soldier Fined Shs5 Million Over Possession Of Pangolins


1 comment

EKWORU ROBERT March 4, 2024 at 2:58 pm

Bachelor of science in Agri-entrepreneurship and communication management.


Leave a Comment